Free 16oz Juice on tap for new app members* Get Rewards

Toastique vs Smoothie King: An FDD-Based Franchise Comparison Toastique

Toastique vs Smoothie King: An FDD-Based Franchise Comparison

Toastique smoothie bowls topped with fruit and granola beside cold-pressed wellness shots

If you have $300,000 or more in liquid capital, you have read both companies' marketing pages. We built this comparison from official Franchise Disclosure Documents rather than marketing pages, so prospective Franchise Owners can compare evidence instead of advertising.

Our Verdict

Toastique is the stronger long-term investment for owner-operators looking for a premium café concept, lower ongoing fees and diversified revenue.

Smoothie King remains the stronger option for buyers prioritizing lower entry costs, more operating history and a larger franchise system.

  • Lower long-term fee burden
  • More diversified revenue streams
  • Simpler café build
  • Greater expansion white space

Which one fits you, in 15 seconds

If your priority is… Better choice
Lowest entry cost Smoothie King
Lower fee and build floor
Lowest long-term fees Toastique
Lower fee ceiling
Premium healthy café concept Toastique
Whole-food café, $21.27 average ticket
Brand recognition Smoothie King
1,242 US units

How we compared them

Every figure comes from official Franchise Disclosure Documents and first-party brand disclosures: Toastique's 2026 FDD (Item 19, Table 10) and published investment pages, and Smoothie King's 2026–2027 FDD, issued April 8, 2026. We reviewed items 1, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20. Where figures aren't directly comparable, we explain the difference rather than average it out. This is a document-based comparison, not an operational test.

Upfront investment and franchise fee

Smoothie King wins on entry cost in the format most buyers choose: a $30,000 traditional / $15,000 non-traditional fee against Toastique's $55,000 (2026–27 FDD, Item 5; Toastique's published range).

The gap holds at the low end: in-line runs $329,850–$683,715 against Toastique's $471,152–$890,846, a floor roughly $141,000 higher. It flips for the other format - a free-standing drive-thru runs $639,950–$1,278,900 and still excludes $150,000–$300,000 of site work plus land and building (Item 7, Notes 12 & 19).

Toastique's build carries no such exclusion, and its 1,200–1,400 sq ft footprint needs no ovens, fryers, or hoods, an advantage over a full commercial kitchen, even if it doesn't close the fee gap.

Item 5 & Item 7 Toastique Smoothie King
Franchise fee $55,000 $30,000 traditional
$15,000 non-traditional
Total investment $471,152 – $890,846 $329,850 – $683,715 (end-cap / in-line)
$639,950 – $1,278,900 (free-standing drive-thru)
Liquid capital / net worth $300,000 / $650,000 Varies by format and market
Kitchen / build No ovens, fryers, or hoods Varies by format
Additional investment details
  • Incentives - Toastique waives the first $10,000 of royalties for veterans, applied to the local marketing of their restaurant (2026 FDD, Item 5); Smoothie King takes 20% off the fee for veterans and first responders.
  • Additional-unit fees - $25,000 per unit at Smoothie King, plus a $12,500 area-development fee per unit after the first.
  • Working capital - Toastique includes roughly 3 months ($40,000) in its range; Smoothie King excludes $150,000–$300,000 of site work plus land and building.
  • Development agreements - Toastique offers multi-unit packages of 3 units ($110,000), 4 units ($143,000), or 5 units ($170,000 in initial franchise fees), with Area Developer agreements considered case by case.
Winner

Smoothie King - Materially lower entry cost at every format except free-standing drive-thru, though Toastique's build avoids a Type I hood and a grease interceptor.

Ongoing fee burden

Toastique has the lower long-term fee burden. Both charge a 6% royalty, and both ask for local marketing spend; the layers above differ (2026 franchise overview; 2026–27 FDD, Item 6). Toastique's ceiling lands near 10% and runs at about 8% today; Smoothie King's reaches 11%, or 13% if the franchisor raises the national fund to 5% on 60 days' notice.

Read the fee stack twice: what you remit vs. what you direct

Local marketing stays in your market, and you direct it; a royalty and a national fund leave the business permanently. So the gap is wider than the totals suggest: Toastique remits 6% today (8% if the brand fund switches on); Smoothie King remits 9%, up to 11%.

Fixed costs also diverge: Smoothie King discloses $200/month for technology, $290–$350 for software and security, and a year-five remodel of up to $25,000 in materials. Toastique waives royalty for the first three months on each unit developed under a 1-3, 1-4, or 1-5 multi-franchise addendum and charges $10,000 to renew.

Recurring cost (Item 6) Toastique Smoothie King
Royalty 6% of gross sales 6% of Gross Sales ($500/month minimum)
Marketing Brand fund up to 2%; plus at least 2% of monthly gross sales spent locally 3% national, raisable to 5% on 60 days' notice; up to 2% regional/local
Total fee ceiling ~10% ~11%, worst case ~13%
Remitted to the franchisor 6% today (8% if the brand fund is switched on) 9% (up to 11%)
Other recurring considerations
  • Technology - $500/month at Toastique, with a disclosed cap of $750/month (Item 6); $200/month at Smoothie King.
  • Software & security - not disclosed by Toastique, as it is included in the technology fee; $290–$350/month at Smoothie King.
  • Renewal - $10,000 at Toastique (18% of the original fee); half the then-current initial fee plus a $775 design fee at Smoothie King.
  • Transfer - $20,000 at Toastique; $7,500–$12,500 at Smoothie King.
  • Scheduled remodel - none at Toastique; up to $25,000 in materials in year five at Smoothie King.
  • Royalty relief - waived for the first 3 months on each unit developed under a Toastique multi-franchise addendum; none at Smoothie King.
  • Term - 10 years plus one 10-year renewal at both; Toastique’s renewal requires its then-current agreement, a general release, the $10,000 renewal fee, and a remodel to current standards (Item 17).
Winner

Toastique - A lower ceiling, less of it remitted, and no year-five remodel, though local marketing narrows the gap on both sides.

What the units actually earn

Toastique's disclosed average is higher, but the two figures measure different things. Its 2026 FDD reports all operational franchise outlets open for two or more years averaging $745,577 in gross sales, with a top location at $1,122,669 (2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Table 10). Smoothie King's 2026–27 FDD reports a $662,015 all-unit average and $627,210 median in Net Sales across 1,087 franchised units open for a consecutive 13 months, already excluding 33 units that closed permanently that year.

Item 19, like for like Toastique Smoothie King
Cohort All operational franchise outlets open for two or more years Franchised units open a consecutive 13-month period
Units included 17 1,087
Average $745,577 $662,015
Median $780,480 $627,210
Additional disclosure details

Toastique reports gross sales; Smoothie King reports Net Sales, excluding taxes, returns, or discounts. Highest unit: $1,122,669 against $2,278,731. Lowest disclosed unit: $142,703 at Smoothie King, whose bottom 10% averages $352,248; Toastique’s disclosed low is $327,717 (Item 19, Tables 9 and 10). 43% of Smoothie King units reach its average, and 33 permanently closed units are excluded from the cohort. Its same-store sales ran +11.6% (2023), 0.0% (2024), +0.6% (2025).

Read that table before either brand's marketing: the raw gap between the averages is the least useful number here.

Important

Smoothie King's advertised AUV of $826,987 represents only the top-performing half of locations. The official system-wide average remains the Item 19 figure used throughout this comparison.

The caveat cuts both ways: Smoothie King's 1,087-unit cohort, with decile detail down to a $142,703 low, is far stronger evidence than Toastique’s 17-outlet cohort. Neither projects what any single unit will earn (Toastique's Item 19 page).

Winner

Toastique - A higher disclosed average from its matured-unit cohort, though Smoothie King's 1,087-unit sample with decile detail is far stronger evidence.

System scale, stability and closure record

Smoothie King's system is bigger, older, and its churn is fully disclosed - three things a newer brand can't match. It ranks #17 on Entrepreneur's 2026 Franchise 500, and its Item 20 shows 246 openings against 96 franchised exits between 2023 and 2025 - churn a buyer can model. Texas, Florida, Georgia and Louisiana hold 52% of its units; California has zero (Items 1 & 20, Table 3).

Toastique has grown fast, from 13 outlets at the start of 2023 to 57 by the end of 2025 (49 franchised, 8 company-owned), but fast growth from a small base is still a small base, and the founder’s track record doesn’t substitute for Item 20 history.

Toastique

  • Since 2020
  • 56 franchise units open
  • Fast expansion
  • Large amount of white-space

Smoothie King

  • Since 1988
  • 1,242 units
  • Public closure history
  • Mature franchise system
System scale (Item 20) Toastique Smoothie King
Years franchising Since 2020 Since 1988
Total units 56 franchise units open, 33 in development with leases signed; 226+ licenses awarded across 103 franchisees 1,242 (1,200 franchised + 42 company-owned)
Recent growth 21 net new outlets in 2025 (19 franchised, 2 company-owned) 246 opened 2023–2025; company units 59 → 42 as stores were refranchised
Documented closures Not publicly disclosed 96 exits (81 ceased operations, 10 terminations, 5 reacquisitions)
Repeat ownership Half of Toastique franchisees own multiple units Not disclosed

Scale lowers some risks and guarantees no upside: a 1,242-unit system has taken its best sites; a younger one has less proof and more open territory. The question is which failure mode you can absorb.

Winner

Smoothie King: More units, more history and a fully documented closure record, against a system whose best territories are still being assigned.

Operating model: menu, dayparts and real estate

Toastique earns across more of the day; Smoothie King fits into more building types. This one splits.

Toastique’s menu; gourmet toast, cold-pressed juice, smoothies, açaí bowls, and a wide espresso menu, captures a morning coffee run, a lunch crowd, and an afternoon smoothie occasion in one store. Smoothie King is single-category and beverage-led, and its own 2026–27 FDD calls the business ‘seasonal in most areas’ (Item 1) - structural, not a claim layered on here.

Smoothie King is aware of the gap: Power Eats, its first food menu in over 50 years, launched January 2025, with ovens rolling out system-wide in 2026 - a move toward the model Toastique already runs, carrying an equipment capital call not yet in Item 7.

Real estate runs the other way. Beyond end-cap and in-line, Smoothie King offers a free-standing drive-thru and a lower-cost non-traditional format ($15,000 fee) for malls, airports, hospitals, universities and grocery stores (Items 1 & 7). Toastique runs one box: a compact 1,200–1,400 sq ft café needing no ovens, fryers, or hoods - simpler to build, narrower in sites. In fairness, non-traditional is no growth engine for Smoothie King: flat at 44 units for two years, about 3.5% of the system (Item 20, Note 2).

Split

Toastique & Smoothie King - Toastique on menu breadth and year-round demand; Smoothie King on site flexibility and format choice.

A Toastique team outside a gourmet toast and juice bar storefront

Training, territory and terms

Toastique trains longer and defines territory more tightly: 254 initial hours (32 remote, 222 onsite at the D.C. flagship) against Smoothie King's up-to-20-day program - 60–80 classroom hours plus 80–120 on the job (Item 11). Smoothie King's opening support is narrower than it appears too: five days of field support at no cost, only for an owner's first three units.

Both offer a 10-year initial term. Toastique's is renewable; Smoothie King's carries one further 10-year term, but renewal requires remodeling to current standards and an agreement that ‘may have materially different terms’ (Item 17).

Common investor mistake: asking whether a territory exists, not what it is

Ask whether the territory is exclusive; when it is granted; whether it can change; and how it is measured. All four are in Item 12. Smoothie King's covers about 15,000 people, is granted only once the lease is signed, and is explicitly non-exclusive and redefinable at renewal. Toastique's is a roughly 2-mile designated radius.

Winner

Toastique - More training hours and a tighter, better-defined territory, though Smoothie King's support system has decades more history.

Where each brand leads

Toastique leads on

  • Long-term fee burden
  • Menu diversification
  • Territory opportunity
  • Training
  • Growth potential

Smoothie King leads on

  • Entry cost
  • Brand recognition

Tie

  • Operational simplicity
  • Scalability

Who each franchise is right for

The better franchise depends on the buyer. The evidence resolves across four profiles - Smoothie King takes one.

First-time owner-operator, one unit, $300–500K liquid

Toastique

  • 254 training hours against a 20-day program
  • Matters most with no prior operating experience
  • Multi-daypart menu spreads single-unit revenue risk

Trade-off: A shorter track record and fewer owners to call.

The real estate or the capital is the constraint

Smoothie King

  • $15,000 non-traditional fee; in-line build from $329,850
  • Toastique discloses no free-standing drive-thru at all
  • Fits a gym, hospital, airport, campus or pad site

Trade-off: A drive-thru means $639,950–$1,278,900 plus excluded site work.

Multi-unit developer, 3–10 units over five years

Toastique, with a caveat

  • Unassigned territory is a developer’s scarce input
  • Multi-unit packages run 3 to 5 units, with Area Developer agreements case by case
  • Half of franchisees own multiple units

Trade-off: Smoothie King has proven multi-unit ownership at greater scale, at $12,500 per unit after the first.

Cold-climate market (Chicago, Boston, Minneapolis, Denver)

Toastique

  • Smoothie King’s own FDD calls the business ‘seasonal in most areas’
  • Texas, Florida, Georgia and Louisiana hold 52% of its units (Item 20)
  • A hot-espresso and toast menu earns through winter

Trade-off: Toastique’s own cold-market evidence is thin, 56 franchise units open against Smoothie King’s 1,242.

Before you sign: what to verify

Ask every franchisor
  • What cohort does your Item 19 figure cover, and what share of units actually reach it?
  • Show me the full Item 20 table - openings, closures, transfers, terminations - for the last three years.
  • Is my territory exclusive, when is it granted, and can it be redrawn at renewal?
  • What do I pay beyond royalty and marketing: technology, remodel, transfer, renewal?

Frequently asked questions

Direct answers to the questions prospective Franchise Owners ask most about this comparison.

Is Toastique better than Smoothie King?

They suit different buyers. Toastique: lower fee burden (about 8% today against roughly 11%), more training hours, a multi-daypart menu. Smoothie King: lower entry cost, more site formats, a public FDD. Long-hold owner-operators lean Toastique; capital-constrained or drive-thru buyers lean Smoothie King.

How much does a Toastique franchise cost compared to Smoothie King?

Toastique: $471,152–$890,846 total initial investment, $55,000 franchise fee (2026 FDD, Item 7). Smoothie King: $329,850–$683,715 in-line with a $30,000 fee ($15,000 non-traditional); a free-standing drive-thru runs $639,950–$1,278,900 before $150,000–$300,000 of excluded site work (2026–27 FDD, Item 7).

What are the ongoing fees for each franchise?

Toastique's are lower. Both charge a 6% royalty, but Toastique's stack tops out near 10% and runs about 8% today, while Smoothie King's reaches roughly 11%, up to 13% if the national fund goes to 5% (Item 6). Toastique remits 6% today; Smoothie King remits 9%.

Which is the better franchise for a first-time owner?

Toastique, on training depth - 254 hours against Smoothie King's 20-day program, which matters most with no operating experience, alongside a multi-daypart menu that spreads single-unit revenue risk. Smoothie King is the better first franchise if documented precedent matters more: 1,087 units and a public FDD to read before signing.

Final recommendation

Smoothie King is the stronger choice for the capital-constrained or opportunistic buyer. Its $30,000 fee and $329,850 in-line floor are the lowest entry here, its drive-thru and non-traditional formats open sites Toastique cannot use, and its public FDD shows the closure record before you sign.

Toastique is the stronger choice for the long-hold owner-operator - qualified at $300,000 liquid and $650,000 net worth, running the business directly, or semi-absentee with a strong restaurant background, proven multi-unit success, and a strong General Manager in place, expanding rather than flipping. On that profile Toastique's advantages compound across ten years, while Smoothie King's entry-cost saving is banked once.

Why Toastique wins for long-term owner-operators
  • Lower long-term fee burden - about 8% of sales today against roughly 11%, charged every year of a ten-year term.
  • More diversified revenue - five categories across three dayparts spread the risk a beverage-led model concentrates.
  • Simpler café build - 1,200–1,400 sq ft with no ovens, fryers, or hoods.
  • Greater expansion white space - 56 franchise units open against 226+ awarded.

Compare the numbers for yourself

Read Toastique's published investment range and fees alongside Smoothie King's FDD, and take the same questions from this article's checklist to both franchisors before you sign anything.

Start the Toastique franchise process
Previous Post Next Post